Tipton County, Indiana

We are a community of hard working people with a commitment to keeping our county safe, clean, and prosperous.

Merit Board

The Tipton County Sheriff's Office Merit Board is comprised of five (5) members. Three (3) are appointed by the Sheriff and two (2) are elected by a majority vote of merit officers of the Office. Each Board Member serves a term of four (4) years. The Sheriff, along with the Merit Board, sets classifications, ranks, and grades for members of the Office. Together, they advise and administer examinations to test new applicants for the position of merit deputy as well as promotions to higher ranks, grades, or positions for existing officers.

The Merit Board is charged with the responsibility of hearing cases against merit officers who are suspended for more than fifteen (15) days. Likewise, it is the hearing panel if a deputy is demoted in rank, grade, or position or if the deputy is terminated from the Office. Finally, the Merit Board must approve all operating rules and regulations for the Tipton County Sheriff's Office.  

Currently, the Tipton County Sheriff's Office Merit Board members are:

  • Max Henderson- Sheriff's Appointed Member

  • Ray Noble - Sheriff's Appointed Member

  • Don McElfresh - Sheriff's Appointed Member

  • Tom Dolezal - Deputy Elected Member

  • Julie Pottenger- Deputy Elected Member

Indiana Code - Section 36-8-10-3: Sheriff's merit board

(a) The fiscal body of each county shall, by ordinance, establish a sheriff's merit board to be known as the _________________________ county sheriff's merit board (inserting the name of the county).

(b) The board consists of five (5) members. Three (3) members shall be appointed by the sheriff, and two (2) members shall be elected by a majority vote of the members of the county police force under procedures established by the sheriff's merit board. However, no active county police officer may serve on the board. Appointments are for terms of four (4) years or for the remainder of an unexpired term. Not more than two (2) of the members appointed by the sheriff nor more than one (1) of the members elected by the officers may belong to the same political party. All members must reside in the county. All members serve during their respective terms and until their successors have been appointed and qualified. A member may be removed for cause duly adjudicated by declaratory judgment of the circuit court of the county.

(c) As compensation for service, each member of the board is entitled to receive from the county a minimum of fifteen dollars ($15) per day for each day, or fraction of a day, that the member is engaged in transacting the business of the board.

(d) As soon as practicable after the members of the board have been appointed, they shall meet upon the call of the sheriff and organize by electing a president and a secretary from among their membership. Three (3) members of the board constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. The board shall hold regular monthly meetings throughout the year as is necessary to transact the business of the sheriff's department. As added by Acts 1981, P.L.309, SEC.61. Amended by Acts 1981, P.L.315, SEC.7; P.L.310-1989, SEC.2.

Contact Us

Sheriff's Office
(More about Sheriff's Office)
121 W Madison St
Tipton, IN 46072
Get Directions

  • Phone: (765) 675-7004
  • Fax: (765) 675-6374
  • Staff Directory
  • Office Hours:
    M - F 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

In this Department

Topics of Interest