About Us

In 1990 the State of Indiana mandated that a new local government be formed to manage Solid Waste. Today there are 65 Districts, we elected to be a single county district while some combined with surrounding counties. The main goal of the districts is to protect the environment by reducing the amount of waste going to final disposal. The Districts were to accomplish this by: education, source reduction, reuse and recycling. Our local board consists of the three Commissioners, the Mayor, a City and County council member and an elected Town Board member of an outlying community. For more information about HEA1240 and IC 13­21 contact our office or search the Indiana Government webpage.