

Minutes January 4, 2018 Tipton County Plan Commission

The Tipton County Plan Commission held its regularly scheduled meeting on Thursday, January 4, 2018, in the 1st floor meeting room, Tipton County Courthouse, 101 East Jefferson Street, Tipton, Indiana.

Gerald Shuck called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Roll Call

Members in attendance: Jason Henderson, Frank Zickmund, Carroll CoHee, Jay Rayl, Austin

Pearson, Joe Mahaney, Gary Herrell, Gerald Shuck and Emily Wilson.

Staff in attendance: Steve Niblick, Lynlie Adair and David Langolf Smith

Modifications to agenda

There were no modifications to the agenda.

Election of Officers

Frank Zickmund announced that he is resigning from the Plan Commission due to his work commitments.

a) President

Jason Henderson made a motion to nominate Gerald Shuck for President; seconded by Emily Wilson. Nominations were closed. Motion carried 9-0.

b) Vice-President

Joe Mahaney made a motion to nominate Jason Henderson for Vice-President; seconded by Gary Herrell. Nominations were closed. Motion carried 9-0.

c) Secretary

Jason Henderson made a motion to nominate Carroll CoHee for Secretary; seconded by Jay Rayl. Nominations were closed. Motion carried 9-0.

d) City Planning Commission Liaison

Joe Mahaney made a motion to nominate Jason Henderson for City Planning Commission Liaison; seconded by Jay Rayl. Nominations were closed. Motion carried 9-0.

e) Joint Conference Committee Member

Jason Henderson made a motion to nominate Jason Henderson and Joe Mahaney (along with Gerald Shuck as President) as Joint Conference Committee Members; seconded by Emily Wilson. Nominations were closed. Motion carried 9-0.

f) Plat / Development Plan Committee Member

Joe Mahaney made a motion to nominate Carroll CoHee for Plat / Development Plan Committee Member (also with Jason Henderson as County Surveyor); seconded by Jay Rayl. Nominations were closed. Motion carried 9-0.

Minutes

Emily Wilson questioned an item under old business concerning the certified zoning code and subdivision control code proposals given to the County Commissioners earlier this year. David Langolf Smith stated his determination that since the Commissioners did not take final action on these proposals per state statute that they are now in effect. Steve Niblick stated that at this point he wants an answer as to whether or not this proposals are in effect. Emily Wilson asked if there were any recourse for the Commissioners and David Langolf Smith answered that the Commissioners could request an amendment.

Gerald Shuck asked Dr. Jim Mullins, Commissioners President, if he had any comments. Jim Mullins noted that his position was that the zoning code was to be amended and that the subdivision control code was denied during a meeting in which Steve Niblick was in attendance. There was further questions and discussion between David Langolf Smith, Steve Niblick, Frank Zickmund, and Jason Henderson.

After discussion, Emily Wilson made a motion to amend the old business item to include David Langolf Smith's position that because notification was not made back to the Planning Commission Board that the two proposed amendments to subdivision control ordinance and zoning ordinance did take effect as presented to the Commissioners. This motion was seconded by Frank Zickmund. Frank Zickmund then asked if the motion was to just amend or to approve the minutes as amended. With no other amendments offered by the Commission members; Emily Wilson answered that her motion was to approve the entire minutes as amended. Motion carried 9-0.

Public Hearings

There were no scheduled public hearings.

Reports

Steve Niblick summarized the following reports submitted to the Commission members during the meeting: 2017 ILP end-of-year report along with the 2016 ILP end-of-year report for comparison, the 2017 complaint report, and the final combined ledger (budget report) from the County Auditor's office.

Old Business – none.

New Business – none.

a) Review Rules of Procedure

Steve Niblick noted that the Plan Commission discussed a review of the Plan Commission's Rules of Procedure and By-Laws in December. Steve Niblick asked Gerald Shuck for volunteers to serve on an ad-hoc review committee. After, several Commission members volunteered, Joe Mahaney made a motion to appoint Jason Henderson, Emily Wilson and Austin Pearson to the Rules of Procedure review committee; seconded by Frank Zickmund. Motion carried 9-0.

Public Comments	
There were no public comments.	
Adjournment	
There being no further business, Er seconded by Frank Zickmund. Mo	mily Wilson made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:36 pm tion carried 9-0.
President	Date
Executive Director	Date